PM Modi brings about a big bureaucratic reshuffle

Transfer-Posting-punIn a massive reshuffle of central bureaucracy, PM Narendra Modi has 8 secretary level officers besides 40 others transfers initiated almost at the same time. This is the first major reshuffle since the Narendra Modi government took to office few months back.

In a significant move, the 1980-batch Uttar Pradesh cadre IAS officer Aradhana Johri has been appointed Secretary in the Disinvestment department. Johri was till now working as Secretary in the Department of Pharmaceuticals. She will take charge from Ravi Mathur, who is superannuating soon.

As part of another order by Appointments Committee of Cabinet, VK Subburaj, the Secretary in National Commission for Scheduled Castes, has been moved to the Department of Pharmaceuticals in place of Johri.

Besides her, the government has also issued orders for appointment of seven new secretaries. Rajiv Takru, a 1979-batch IAS officer of Gujarat cadre, has been appointed as Secretary in National Commission for Minorities. He was until now working as Secretary, Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER). Takru has been appointed in place of Surjit Kumar Chaudhary, who has been moved as Secretary, Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals.

A 1980-batch IAS officer of Tamil Nadu cadre, Surjit Kumar Chaudhary, has taken over from Indrajit Pal, who too is superannuating soon.

A 1980-batch Assam-Meghalaya cadre IAS officer, Kapil Dev Tripathi, has been appointed as Secretary in the Department of Public Enterprises. Tripathi was until now Secretary in the Central Vigilance Commission.

Tripathi has replaced a 1979-batch IAS officer of Punjab cadre, Kusumjit Sidhu, who has been transferred to the Department of Justice at the same level. She will take over charge from Anita Kaul, who too is superannuating.

Meanwhile, R Vijaykumar, a 1978-batch Tamil Nadu cadre IAS officer, has been appointed as the new DoNER Secretary in place of Takru. Vijaykumar was until now serving as Secretary in the National Commission for Scheduled Tribes.

Satyanarayan Mohanty, a 1980-batch IAS officer of Andhra Pradesh cadre, has been appointed as Secretary in Department of Higher Education. Mohanty, who was until now Secretary in the National Disaster Management Authority, will take over from Ashok Thakur, who is retiring soon.

The government also effected noteworthy changes in the mid-level bureaucracy by transferring about 40 IAS officers in various government departments.